Shortlist for Excellence in Local Government Awards Announced

Waterford Crystal 11Chambers Ireland has announced the shortlist for the Excellence in Local Government Awards 2016 with a total of 23 local authorities shortlisted over 16 categories. The awards, held in association with the Department of Housing, Planning, Community and Local Government, showcase best practice in local Government and recognise the skills, hard work, innovation and enthusiasm within local Government that can often go unrecognised.

Commenting on the announcement of the shortlist, Ian Talbot, Chief Executive, Chambers Ireland said: “It is important to recognise the continued hard work of local authorities across Ireland despite the many challenges they have faced in recent years. The shortlist for the 2016 Excellence in Local Government Awards highlights the dedication shown by Irish local authorities across a range of categories, from promoting economic development to sustaining the arts.

“This year we introduced a new category, Commemorations & Centenaries, to showcase the enormous effort that was put into projects and events to celebrate and commemorate 1916 across the country. I would like to congratulate the 23 shortlisted local authorities and acknowledge the excellent work being undertaken by all local authorities in Ireland.”

The winners will be announced at the 13th annual awards ceremony on November 24th at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Northwood, Santry. Awards will be presented for excellence in 16 different categories and one local authority will be awarded the overall award and named Local Authority of the Year 2016.

Complete Shortlist for ELG Awards 2016

Supporting Active Communities

Best Practice in Citizen Engagement

Health & Wellbeing

  • Cork City Council – Sensory Workshops for Health & Wellbeing
  • Kildare County Council – Athy Community Addiction Response
  • South Dublin County Council – HI South Dublin Healthy County

Supporting Tourism

Promoting Economic Development

Local Authority Innovation

  • Cork City Council – Cork City Council’s Litter Fine System
  • Fingal County Council – Fingal Online Consultation Portal
  • Kilkenny County
  • Limerick City & County Council – HAP Shared Services Centre
  • Monaghan County Council – Lifetime Dog Licence with free Microchipping and Registration
  • South Dublin County Council – Building the Lean Six Sigma Organisation

Sustainable Environment

  • Cork County Council – Implementation of ISO 5001 standard in Cork County Council
  • Dublin City Council – Think Energy: Home Energy Saving Kit
  • Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council – Biodiversity in Action
  • South Dublin County Council – Social Credit Scheme

Best Library Service

  • Galway County Council – Rebirth and Reimagining – Ballinasloe Library: A Community Focus for a New Generation
  • Offaly County Council – Open Libraries
  • South Dublin County Council – South Dublin Libraries Heritage Publications and Bookstore
  • Wexford County Council -Wexford Mobile Library Service – Literacy at the heart of Rural Communities

Sustaining the Arts

  • Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council – dlr Performing Arts Award
  • Fingal County Council – The Lucky Penny 1916 Literature Project and Exhibition
  • Kildare County Council – 1916 Sackville Street Art Project

Joint Local Authority Initiative

  • Donegal County Council– North West of the Island of Ireland – A Strategic Model for Regional Development Growth
  • Dublin City Council – Smart Dublin
  • Sligo County Council – Boosting regional enterprise, tourism and economic activities through overseas and transatlantic linkages

Festival of the Year

  • Cork County Council – A Taste of West Cork Food Festival
  • Fingal County Council – Dublin Bay Prawn Festival 2016
  • Louth County Council – Drogheda Arts Festival
  • Mayo County Council – Battle for the Lake Kite and Music Festival – Achill Island

Outstanding Customer Service

  • Cork City Council – Cork Cashes Out
  • Fingal county Council – Fingal Customer Care Unit
  • Limerick City & County Council – Implementation of Customer Services Centres
  • Tipperary County Council – Integrated Customer Services Centre

Enhancing the Urban Environment

  • Cork County Council – Clonakilty Urban Design Masterplan
  • Dublin City Council – Kilmainham Civic Space
  • Fingal County Council – “Keeping it Green” An Open Space Strategy for Fingal – Large Scale Bulb Planting in Civic Areas
  • Meath County Council – Ashbourne Main Street Refurbishment Scheme

Heritage and Built Environment

  • Cavan County Council – The 1916 Exhibition and Experience
  • Fingal County Council – Swords Castle: Digging History
  • Kildare County Council – John Devoy – The Greatest of Fenians

Disability Services Provision

  • Fingal County Council – Adapted Physical Activity – Sports for All
  • Kerry County Council – Kerry Library Toys & Sensory Resources Service
  • South Dublin county Council – Learn to Cycle
  • Wexford County Council – Wexford County Council Beach Wheelchair Initiative

Commemorations & Centenaries

  • Carlow County Council – Carlow Ireland 2016 “Reflections from a Light Box”
  • Dublin City Council – Dublin Remembers 1916 – 2016: Is Cuimhin Linn
  • Fingal County Council – Fingal 2016 Centenary Programme
  • Kildare County Council – 1916 Sackville Street Art Project
  • Meath County Council – Battle of Ashbourne State Ceremony and Commemorative Event
  • Monaghan County Council – From a Whisper to a Roar – Exploring the Untold Story of Monaghan
  • South Dublin County – Commemorative plaza with pedestrian and cycle entrance to Pearse Museum and St. Enda’s Park, Grange Road, Rathfarnham, Dublin 16
  • Wexford County Council – County Wexford 1916 Centenary Commemorative Programme