EY Entrepreneur of the Year Awards Shortlist Announced


The shortlist for the 2018 EY Entrepreneur of the Year (EOY) awards has been released, with 24 finalists selected to compete across three categories. The awards are now in their 21st year in Ireland.

The category winners and an overall 2018 EY Entrepreneur of the Year award winner will be announced at a ceremony in Dublin in October. The judging panel will consider a number of criteria including innovation, value creation, strategic direction, financial performance, national and global impact and the entrepreneurs’ contribution to society and industry. The overall winner of the 2018 programme will go on to represent Ireland at the World Entrepreneur of the Year in Monaco in June 2019.

The finalists in this year’s emerging category are:

  • Darragh McCarthyof FinTrU
  • Paddy Finn of Electricity Exchange
  • Joe Wiley of Amryt Pharma
  • Patrick J Rigney of the Shed Distillery of PJ Rigney
  • Elaine Sullivan of Carrick Therapeutics
  • David and Sandra Whelan of VR Education
  • Eoin Leonard of i3PT Certification
  • Noel O’Hanlon of Genises Automation

In the industry category the finalists are:

  • David Maxwell of Boojum
  • PJ Flanagan of H&MV Engineering
  • Dominic Fitzpatrick of the Irish News
  • Bill Wolsey of Beannchor Group
  • Vicki O’Toole of JJ O’Toole
  • Louise Kennedy of Louise Kennedy
  • Gareth Chambers of Around Noon
  • Rachel Doyle of Arboretum

International category finalists include:

  • Peter Keeling of Diaceutics
  • Tony Richardson of Venn Life Sciences
  • Peter Coppinger and Daniel Mackey of Teamwork.com
  • Ray Cole of Virginia International Logistics
  • Barry Napier of Cubic Telecom
  • Mary McKenna of Tour America/Cruise Holidays
  • Damien McGovern and Pat Lynch of Compliance & Risks
  • Áine Lecky and Eibhlin Murphy of Major Equipment (Intl)

Pictured above: Michael Carey, East Coast Bakehouse; Anne Heraty, CEO CPL Resources; and Kevin McLoughlin, partner lead for the EY EOY programme.

Photograph by: EY